News & Events

Eastern Neighbourhood: EU civil protection programme granted extension until 2019

September 11, 2018

The six Eastern Neighbourhood countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine) will benefit from an additional six months of support from the EU-funded Programme on Prevention, Preparedness and Response to Natural and Man-made Disasters in the Eastern Partnership Countries (PPRD East 2), which has been extended until the end of May 2019 by the European Commission.

This six-month extension will enable further development and enhancement of the Eastern Partner countries’ national civil protection and disaster risk management systems through approximation to the communicative and good practice of the EU Civil Protection acquis communautaire and good practice. The countries will also continue work on regional cooperation towards the implementation of the EU Civil Protection Mechanism.

The PPRD East programme is the EU-funded flagship initiative aiming to increase the disaster risk management capacities and capabilities of the Eastern Partner countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine), thereby improving the protection of their populations from the negative consequences of man-made and disasters caused by natural hazards.

Find out more

Press release

PPRD East 2

« All News and Events